Seattle City Council identifies eight finalists for vacancy 

Seattle City Council name plate in Council Chambers reads "vacant."

SEATTLE – Seattle City Council President Sara Nelson (Position 9 – Citywide) announced today that the Council identified eight finalists to fill the vacancy left by now-former City Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda (Position 8 – Citywide). The finalists for Position 8 are: 

  • Juan J. Cotto  
  • Neha Nariya   
  • Mark Solomon   
  • Vivian Song 
  • Steven K. Strand   
  • Mari Sugiyama   
  • Linh Thai   
  • Tanya Woo 

A list of the 72 eligible applicants and completed application materials were made available to the public via the Council Vacancy webpage on Thursday, January 11. Councilmembers selected the eight finalists from the list of 72 qualified applicants provided by the City Clerk.  

During today’s special meeting, the Council also selected Seattle CityClub to host a community forum with the finalists, giving the community a chance to hear from the candidates before the final selection is made.  


  • Community Forum hosted by Seattle CityClub will be scheduled. 
  • Special Council Meeting for Councilmembers to consider the finalists has been scheduled for Monday, January 22, 2024 at 9:30 a.m. Finalists who participated in the Community Forum will have the chance to address the Council during this meeting.  
  • The anticipated vote by City Council on the appointment will occur on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. 

# # #