Seattle City Council Announces 2020-2021 Committee Chairs and Assignments

Home » Seattle City Council Announces 2020-2021 Committee Chairs and Assignments

Council President M. Lorena González (Position 9, Citywide), along with her Council Colleagues, approved the Seattle City Council’s committee assignments today that will guide legislative work in 2020. 

Councilmembers who chair each committee manage legislation related to that committee’s focus. Councilmembers also serve as vice-chairs on committees and as members on others.  Committee assignments last for two years.

“The Council’s committees reflect Seattle’s most pressing issues and our collective priorities. As one of the most progressive City Council bodies in the country, I expect this Council to tackle big issues related to homelessness, affordable housing, police reform, transportation, labor and the ongoing disproportionate impacts of growth felt by many in our city, especially working families and people of color. I look forward to working with my Council colleagues to lead the charge on bold legislation that improves the lives of all Seattle residents and advances our shared progressive values.”

Committee assignments were adopted by Council Resolution 31922 at the first City Council meeting of the year on Monday January 6, 2020, at 2:00 p.m.

The following committees were established:

Community Economic Development Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Tammy J. Morales (District 2, Southeast Seattle & Chinatown/International District) will oversee Council’s work on issues relating to economic development policies, small business development and support, programs that provide education and training to low- and middle-income workers and communities of color. The committee will also work on civil rights issues; film, music, arts and cultural activities; and equitable development initiatives. This committee oversees the work of the Office of Economic Development, Business Improvement Areas and the Office for Civil Rights. 

Finance and Housing Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda (Position 8, Citywide) will focus on financial management policies, oversight of public works construction projects, housing policies and programs, and monitoring the implementation of the city’s priority hire program and promoting worker protections in the private sector. This committee oversees the work of the City Employees’ Retirement System, the Department of Finance and Administrative Services, the Office of Housing, and the Office of Labor Standards. Councilmember Mosqueda will also chair the Select Budget Committee, overseeing the review and adoption of the City’s budget.

Governance and Education Committee: Serving as Chair, Council President M. Lorena González (Position 9, Citywide) will consider policies relating to governmental matters, such as the rules relating to the Seattle City Council and legislation that impacts the City Charter. The Committee will also focus on education and early learning initiatives, including child care, city personnel issues, and immigrant and refugee rights. This committee oversees the work of the Office of Intergovernmental Relations, the Office of the Employee Ombud, the City Auditor, the Office of the Hearing Examiner, the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission, the Office of Immigrant and Refugee Affairs, and the Department of Education and Early Learning. 

Land Use and Neighborhoods Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Dan Strauss (District 6, Northwest Seattle) will focus on planning and land use, including zoning, design, community development, land use regulations, historic preservation, and quasi-judicial land use decisions. This committee oversees the work of the Office of Planning and Community Development, the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections and the Department of Neighborhoods. 

Public Assets and Native Communities Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Debora Juarez (District 5, North Seattle) will manage legislative issues related to parks, community centers, public grounds, and Native American issues. This committee oversees the work of the Seattle Center, the Seattle Public Library system, Seattle Parks and Recreation, the Woodland Park Zoo and the Seattle Aquarium. Councilmember Juarez will also continue to represent the City’s interests on the Sound Transit Board. 

Public Safety and Human Services Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Lisa Herbold (District 1, West Seattle & South Park) will oversee legislation related to public safety, criminal justice, law enforcement, police accountability, fire and emergency services, youth justice, public health and human services. This committee oversees the work of the Seattle Police Department, the Seattle Fire Department, the Office of Police Accountability, the Office of Inspector General, the Community Police Commission, the Seattle Office of Emergency Management, the Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion program, and the non-homeless services investments and programs of the Human Services Department. 

Sustainability and Renters’ Rights Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Kshama Sawant (District 3, Central Seattle) will focus on issues relating to urban sustainability, climate change, Seattle’s Green New Deal, food policy, and renters’ rights, including legislation intended to protect renters facing gentrification and economic evictions. The committee will oversee the work of the Office of Sustainability and Environment. 

Transportation and Utilities Committee: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Alex Pedersen (District 4, Northeast Seattle) will oversee legislative matters relating to city-wide and regional transportation policy and planning, such as transportation projects and planning, pedestrian and bicycle planning, transportation system maintenance and repair, parking policies and freight mobility planning. This committee will oversee the Seattle Department of Transportation, Seattle Public Utilities, Seattle City Light and Seattle Technology Information. 

Select Committee on Homelessness Strategies & Investments: Serving as Chair, Councilmember Andrew J. Lewis (District 7, Pioneer Square to Magnolia) will oversee the City of Seattle’s ongoing efforts to reduce the number of people experiencing homelessness within Seattle and the region. The select committee is responsible for overseeing the programs, policies and investments of the Homelessness Strategies & Investments Division of the Seattle Human Services Department, including the Navigation Team, and  the work of other City departments related to the City’s homelessness response. The select committee coordinates and manages the Council’s work related to the King County Regional Homelessness Authority, approval of the employee transition plan, review of proposed policies, plans and annual budgets for the Authority.