Council Confirms 10 Members to Community Police Commission

Home » Council Confirms 10 Members to Community Police Commission

Councilmember M. Lorena González (Position 9, Citywide), chair of the Gender Equity, Safe Communities, New Americans and Education Committee, along with her Council colleagues, confirmed eight (8) new appointments and two (2) reappointments to the Community Police Commission (CPC) during today’s Council meeting.

The CPC is tasked with providing oversight, guidance and a community-based voice to the city’s police accountability system. The CPC now has 19 confirmed members serving on the 21-member Commission.

“I’m confident these new members will provide the Community Police Commission with additional perspectives and contribute their personal and professional experience to advance the mission and success of the Commission,” said Councilmember González. “The CPC serves a critical role in our city, and I’m eager for them to build upon their work now that they are close to full capacity for the first time since their membership expanded to 21 commissioners.”

The Council nominated four new members to the Commission: Natasha Moore, Program Manager with CHOOSE 180; Alina Santillan, Director of Racial Equity for Seattle Center Cohort; Brandy Grant, Program Manager at the Alliance for Gun Responsibility Foundation; and Karisa Morikawa, CEDAR Navigator at CHOOSE 180.

Mayor Jenny Durkan nominated three new members to the Commission: Erin B. Goodman, Executive Director of SODO Business Improvement Area; Asha Mohamed, Executive Director of Somali Youth and Family Club; and Esther Lucero, CEO of Seattle Indian Health Board. She also reappointed Rev. Harriett Walden, Co-Founder of Mothers for Police Accountability and a current CPC Co-Chair.

“We must continue the critical and difficult work of real, lasting reform. The Community Police Commission plays a vital role in helping ensure lasting reform at the Seattle Police Department and building trust between our officers and the communities they serve,” said Mayor Durkan. “These leaders are deeply committed to safety, justice, and equity. I am grateful that City Council confirmed these new and current members of the Community Police Commission so they can have the opportunity to serve Seattle.”

“We’re excited for the new perspectives and energy these commissioners will bring the CPC,” said Fé Lopez, Executive Director of the CPC. “More than any other time in our city’s history, the community has the opportunity to have a lasting impact on police reform and accountability. We’re excited to have more voices at the table as we take on this important work.”

The CPC nominated one new member to the Commission: Officer Mark Mullens, Seattle Police Department and SPOG Shop Steward. The CPC also re-appointed Joseph Seia, Director of Program Operations at New Horizons.

The Community Police Commission was initiated by court order in 2013 as a part of the settlement agreement (a.k.a. “Consent Decree”) between the City of Seattle and the U.S. Department of Justice. The CPC was initially a temporary, 15-member advisory body. The adoption of the Police Accountability Ordinance of 2017 made several changes to the CPC: It established the CPC’s permanency, expanded its membership to 21 members and formalized additional roles and responsibilities for the Commission. The Council, the Mayor and the CPC, itself, each have the appointment authority to nominate 7 members to the Commission.

For more information on the Community Police Commission, including their upcoming meetings, visit