• Search Council Connection

  • Council Photostream


Public Safety Committee immediately begins process on Pierce Murphy’s OPA Nomination

City of Seattle

Councilmember Bruce A. Harrell

Public Safety Committee immediately begins process on
Pierce Murphy’s OPA Nomination

SeattleCouncilmember Bruce Harrell, chair of the Council’s Public Safety, Civil Rights and Technology Committee, will introduce the Council’s appointment process for Pierce Murphy, the new Office of Professional Accountability (OPA) Director nominee. The Mayor announced the nomination on Friday, April 26. The legislation was delivered to the City Clerk this afternoon, Tuesday, April 30.

“Council will work with urgency to examine the OPA appointment, “said Councilmember Bruce Harrell. “With responsibility to investigate complaints about police misconduct, the OPA Director is one of the most critical positions in the City. The new director must have credibility with all groups, including diverse communities and must also communicate clearly and effectively with police accountability advocates and police officers.”

Harrell said, “The Committee has made it clear that confirmation of the Mayor’s nomination will not be taken lightly, the process will be thorough, and achievements, as well as deficiencies, will be analyzed.”

Significant outreach to community members, civil rights organizations, the Human Rights commission, Community Police Commission, law organizations and police organizations will be conducted to assist in the process of deciding whether Council will confirm Murphy’s nomination. The official public hearing on Murphy’s appointment will be scheduled at an upcoming Public Safety, Civil Rights, and Technology committee meeting.

WHAT: Public Safety, Civil Rights, and Technology Committee

WHEN: Wednesday, May 1, 2013, at 2:00 p.m.

WHERE: Council Chambers, 2nd floor
Seattle City Hall, 600 Fourth Avenue, Seattle 98104

WHO: Councilmember Bruce A. Harrell
Councilmember Nick Licata
Councilmember Mike O’Brien

[View in Council Newsroom]

© 1995-2022 City of Seattle