Seven remaining Councilmembers announce candidacy for Mayor

Home » Seven remaining Councilmembers announce candidacy for Mayor

City of Seattle

Councilmember Richard Conlin
Council President Sally J. Clark
Councilmember Sally Bagshaw
Councilmember Jean Godden
Councilmember Nick Licata
Councilmember Mike O’Brien
Councilmember Tom Rasmussen

Seven remaining Councilmembers announce candidacy for Mayor
Will run as collective

SeattleThe seven Councilmembers who are not already in the race for Mayor today announced that they will pioneer a new model for Seattle governance by running for Mayor as a collective. The seven will appear on the ballot as a single name, "O’Bagcloddenconrasita," reflecting their collegial approach to the position.

"Experience teaches us that seven heads are better than one," said the group speaking in unison. "Seven of nine is an excellent model for decision-making," they commented, making the obligatory geeky Star Trek allusion.

"This way the people of Seattle will know that there will always be a Mayor on the job," O’Bagcloddenconrasita added. "By taking shifts, we can cover the Mayor’s office 24-7. And the Mayor can lobby in Olympia, cut a ribbon in West Seattle, and hold a town meeting in Ballard, all at the same time."

Commenting on the legality of the proposed candidacy, City Attorney Pete Holmes was sanguine about the outcome of any possible court challenge. "Nothing in the City Charter prevents innovative approaches to governance," Holmes added. "Furthermore, this will make it much easier to get a Mayoral signature on City documents."

The group noted that the departure of seven Councilmembers simultaneously would make it difficult to do business and fill the seven vacancies on the Council, since there would not be a quorum remaining. However, the group agreed that this could easily be resolved by the use of serial resignations spaced one week apart between the election and taking office on January 1. That way, each week eight Councilmembers could conduct business and appoint someone to the vacant seat. By the end of December, seven new Councilmembers would be seated and join Mayor O’Bagcloddenconrasita in governing the City.

[View in Council Newsroom]